Documenting the American South Logo
Colonial and State Records of North Carolina
List of justices for Granville County
Jones, Robert, 1718-1766
July 06, 1756
Volume 05, Pages 591-592

A List of Gentlemen in the Commission of the Peace for Granville County July 6th 1756.

William Eaton
William Parsons
James Paine
John Martin
Gideon Macon
William Chambose—lives in Orange
Samuel Henderson
West Harris Jonathan White have long refused to Qualify
John Brantly—lives in SoCarolina
Osburn Jeffereys—refused to act
Samuel Benton—in Prison & refuses
Philip Pryor—refuses
-------------------- page 592 --------------------
RichdHarris junior
Philip Alston—always refused to act
John Sallis—turned out by order of Council
William Hurst—refused to act
Daniel Harris
James Yancy
NathlHarris—Common Drunkard
Edward Moore—refused to act
Ledwick Alford—refused to act
Daniel Underwood—refused to act

The following persons are recomended by Robert Jones junior as fitly Qualified to act as magistrates

Wm Johnson
Henry Howard
Thomas Parsons
George Lampkin
Philn Hawkins
Wm Burford

Additional Notes for Electronic Version: This list was enclosed in a letter from Robert Jones - See Related Documents.