Documenting the American South Logo
Colonial and State Records of North Carolina
Minutes of the Wilmington Committee of Safety
Wilmington (N.C.). Committee of Safety
January 03, 1775 - January 04, 1775
Volume 09, Pages 1107-1108

[From MS. Records in Office of Secretary of State.]
Proceedings of the Safety Committee at Wilmington.

January 3rd, 1775.

The Committee met according to adjournment, when Mr. Orr's goods, mentioned in two invoices, were sold for seven hundred and eighty-seven pounds sterling.

Adjourned to the 4th inst.


Wednesday, January 4th, 1775.

The Committee met at the Court House.

Present: Cornelius Harnett, Archibald McLaine, John Ancrum, William Hooper and John Robeson.

At the same time the freeholders of New Hanover County assembled to choose a committee for the county to join and co-operate with the committee of the town, which the members present agreed to; then the freeholders present, having Cornelius Harnett in the chair, unanimously chose George Moore, John Ashe, Samuel Ashe, James Moore, Frederick Jones, Alex Lillington, Sampson Moseley, Samuel Swann, George Merrick, Esquires, and Messrs. John Hollingsworth, Samuel Collier, Samuel Marshal, William Jones, Thomas Bloodworth, James Wright, Wm Jones, John Larkins, Joel Parrish, John Devane, Timothy Bloodworth, Thomas Devane, John Marshall, John Calvin, Bishop Dudley, and Wm Robeson Esqre were unanimously chosen a committee to join the committee of Wilmington.

The freeholders at the same time nominated John Ashe and William Hooper, Esqrs as delegates for the said county, to attend at Newbern, with the delegates for the other counties and towns in

-------------------- page 1108 --------------------
order to choose representatives to attend the ensuing Congress at Philadelphia.

Then the committee resolved to have monthly stated meetings, and that the first monthly meeting be in Wilmington on the 20th day of every succeeding month.

The committee adjourned till to-morrow.