Documenting the American South Logo
Colonial and State Records of North Carolina
Minutes of the Wilmington Committee of Safety
Wilmington (N.C.). Committee of Safety
July 05, 1775 - July 06, 1775
Volume 10, Pages 68-69

[From MS. Records in Office of Secretary of State.]
Proceedings of the Safety Committee at Wilmington.

Wednesday, July 5th, 1775.

At an occasional meeting of the Committee.

Present: Cornelius Harnett, Chairman; Francis Clayton, Deputy Chairman; Archd Maclaine, James Walker, John Ancrum, Samuel Ashe, John Ashe, James Blythe, John Quince, Wm Ewins, Tim. Bloodworth, Wm Purviance, Wm Jones, Samuel Swann, Joel Parish, An. Ronaldson.

A letter of the 27th June last, was received from the committee of intelligence, in Charlestown, S. C., by Captain Charles Cotesworth Pinkney, and read this day, requesting that this committee may give proper countenance to Captain Pinkney and such officers as accompany him, being sent with an intention to raise men for the defence of American Liberty

Resolved, therefore, That the Chairman of this Committee be impowered to write to the Committees of the several counties and towns in this Province, earnestly recommending their aid and assistance to the officers from South Carolina, in raising such numbers of men as may be necessary to complete their levies now raising for the common defence and support of the Liberties of America, and to express the sense this Committee has of the noble and patriotic conduct of our sister Colony in the common cause.

On motion, Resolved, That the exportation of all kinds of Provision to the Island of Nantucket, should be stopped until further orders by the Continental Congress, and it is recommended to the merchants of this port to observe the same.

John Thally was sent for and appeared before the committee, when he solemnly declared that he had never by any means whatsoever endeavored to alienate any person or persons from their duty in support of the general cause; and desired an advertisement which he signed to be put in the Mercury.

The committee then adjourned till next occasional meeting.

-------------------- page 69 --------------------

Thursday, July 6th 1775.

At an election for committee men for the town of Wilmington, agreeable to a Resolve, of the late committee on Monday the 3rd inst, the following persons were duly elected to represent the said town:

Cornelius Harnett, Francis Clayton, Archibald Maclaine, William Hooper, James Walker, John Ancrum, John Quince, John Robeson, Wm. Purviance, Wm. Ewins, A. Ronaldson, James Blythe, Peter Mallett, William Wilkinson, Adam Boyd, Hy. Toomer, James Tate, John DuBois, John Forster, Doc't Jas. Geekie, Frans. Brice, Caleb Grainger, William Campbell.