Documenting the American South Logo
Colonial and State Records of North Carolina
Minutes of the Tryon County Committee of Safety
Tryon County (N.C.). Committee of Safety
September 14, 1775
Volume 10, Page 247

[From MS. Records in Office of Secretary of State.]
Proceedings of the Safety Committee in Tryon County.

[14th September 1775.]

Met according to adjournment.

Present: Charles McLean, Chairman; Thomas Espey, Fetty Mauney, Frederick Hambright, George Russel, John Morris, Robt. McMinn, Abraham Kuykendall, John Robeson, John Barber, George Black, James Logan, James McAfee, Andrew Neel, Andrew Hampton, Wm Thomason, Nicholas Friday, Benj Harden, Perrygreen Mackness.

Whereas, Captain Andrew Hampton a Member of Committee of this County hath made application to this Committee for Liberty to apply to the Council of Safety of Charles Town for what Gunpowder Lead and Flints can be purchased for the sum of Eight pounds Seventeen shillings & six pence, Proc. Money of North Carolina.

We therefore recommend that the said Capt. Hampton or such person as he shall entrust may receive the said ammunition as lives on the Frontiers of this County & much exposed to the Insults of the Savages.

Resolved, That this Committee adjourn & meet at the Court House on the fourth Tuesday of October next there to deliberate on such matters as shall be judged necessary.