Documenting the American South Logo
Colonial and State Records of North Carolina
Minutes of the Wilmington Committee of Safety
Wilmington (N.C.). Committee of Safety
October 17, 1775
Volume 10, Pages 282-283

[From MS. Records in Office of Secretary of State.]
Proceedings of the Safety Committee at Wilmington.

Wilmington, Tuesday 17th October 1775.

Present: John Ashe, John Devane, Wm Jones Sr, Wm Jones Jr, Charles Hollingsworth, Timothy Bloodworth.

Ordered, that Francis Brice be appointed to keep the poll for the election of delegates and appointment of Committeemen for the County.

At an election this day agreeable to a Resolve of the late Congress of this Colony for the appointment of delegates to represent this town and county in Congress the ensuing year, Cornelius Harnett Esq. was duly elected as a delegate to represent this town and Saml Ashe, John Ashe, Sampson Moseley, John Hollingsworth and John Devane, Esqrs, were also duly elected to represent the county. The

-------------------- page 283 --------------------
Committee for the town and county were also nominated agreeable to a Resolve of the said Congress. Those for the town were John Ancrum, James Walker, John Quince, Peter Mallett, Wm Campbell, Sam. Campbell, Wm Ewins, Henry Toomer, John Slingsby, William Wilkinson, John Forster, James Geekie, John Robeson, Charles Jewkes, Andrew Ronaldson.